Book Review — Constantly Craving by Marilyn Meberg

Do you ask yourself why you never feel satisfied, fulfilled or content? What is the problem? What is keeping you on edge and frustrated? Constantly Craving looks at many of the things that keep us from experiencing true inner peace and the realization of the person God created us to be. Our relationships with other people and our relationship with God all play important roles in our personal satisfaction and joy of living. Marilyn Meberg examines many of the facets of our personal profiles that work together or work against each other to shape our vision of successful living. Each is expressed as a craving that must be satisfied in order for us to feel complete.

I almost gave up on this book before I finished Chapter 4. I’m glad I kept going. The quality of the book improves dramatically in chapters 5 and 6. After that, the value escalates and peaks in Chapter 15 – Craving Heaven. I know I would have been much more enthusiastic about reading the book to the finish if the first chapter had set more appropriate expectations for the book’s content, and I would have preferred to read about contentment, happiness and friendship before dealing with romance. Just keep that in mind as you plow through chapters 2, 3, and 4.

In Chapter 5, the author examines the life of the apostle Paul, quoting his statement, “I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content.” After she develops the notion that we can learn how to be content, it is a small step to the realization that we can learn to deal with all our cravings. No matter what we crave, as long as we still crave it, we cannot be content. This teaching alone is worth the price of the book, but there is much more.

This book is a valuable addition to the library of any Christian who “craves” to become mature in the faith.

  I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

